37th National Exhibition 

The IWS National show is now open until May 28, 2021 at the Next Picture Show Fine Arts Center in Dixon, IL. The gallery is located at 113 W. First Street, Dixon, IL 61021 and is open Tuesday – Saturday, 10am – 4pm. The show features sixty one water-media paintings from artists all over the United States. Click on the slideshow below to see the featured paintings

Click here to see a video of the Awards Presentation by
juror, Elaine Daily-Birnbaum.

Juror of Selection and Awards, Elaine Daily-Birnbaum

Internationally recognized artist, Elaine Daily-Birnbaum, is a signature member (and Dolphin Fellow) of the American Watercolor Society, the National Watercolor Society, Watercolor USA Honor Society, California Watercolor Society, Rocky Mountain National Watercolor Society, and others. Her abstract water-media paintings have received awards in more than one-hundred national and international exhibitions, including two Silver Awards from the American Watercolor Society and First Place Awards from Rocky Mountain, Louisiana, and Northwest Watercolor Societies. Her paintings are included in the permanent collection of the Qingdao Museum, Qingdao, China and her work can be viewed at www.dailyartgallery.com. Ms. Daily-Birnbaum has also served as the juror of selection for the American, National, and California Watercolor Societies’ exhibitions as well as a juror of awards for the American Watercolor Society.


Best of Show:
        What News Pussycat? – Thomas Herzberg

Award of Excellence I:
        DC-3 on the Beach in IcelandPeter Jablokow

Award of Excellence II:
        Alarmed – Denny Bond

Award of Excellence III:
        Guava and Grapes – Chris Krupinski

Evelyn E. Schultz Creative Spirit Award:
        Wet – Ingrid Albrecht

Outstanding Figurative:
        Art Major – Z. Feng

Outstanding Landscape:
        At the Corner of Winter and Spring – Howard Kuo

Outstanding Abstract/Nonrepresentational:
        Figuring It Out – Christine Alfery

Charles Strissel Memorial:
        Alaskan Crabber – Ratindra Das

Director’s Award:
        Carlee’s Garden – Lawrence Raffanti

Honorable Mentions:

        Pasta Dish With Merlot – Raymond Perez

        Thicket – Diane Shabino

         Salvage – Jac Tilton

         A Celebration Of Clean Water – Paul Thiesing

         Boy In Venice – Ryan Fox

         Sea Grapes – Patricia Mroczka

Congratulations to the 2021 Signature Members:

Prerana Kulkarni
Larry Bond
Janine Helton
Rosemary Morrissey